Mandala of the Five Buddhas

Mandala is 'Circle' in Sanskrit and here refers to a sacred geometric figure inscribed in a circle. This is usually a square, but could be a hexagon, as in the Mandala of Vajrayogini, or a series of triangles as in the Hindu "Sri Yantra".

The Five Buddhas are said to be aspects of Shakyamuni Buddha arrayed in a mandala as a square of circles oriented to the cardinal directions, along with a central Buddha called Vairocana, the 'Radiant' the white light Buddha. At the bottom of the diagram is the blue Buddha, Akshobhya, the 'Unshakeable', in the East. To the left is the yellow Buddha, Ratnasambhava, 'Jewel Born' in the South. Above is the red Buddha Amitabha, 'Boundless Light' in the West. To the right is the green Buddha Amoghasiddhi, 'Unobstructed Success' in the North.



The Five Wisdom Buddhas: centre Vairochana, top Amitabha, right Amoghasiddhi, bottom Akshobya, left Ratnasambhava. The

Imagery symbolism of the five Dhyani Buddhas						
Deity	Color	Direction	Gesture (mudra)			
Vairochana	white	Center	Dharmachakra Turning the Dharma-wheel (teaching)			
Akshobhya	blue	East	Bhumisparsa Earth-touching			
Ratnasambhava	yellow	South	Varada Bestowing, giving			
Amitabha	red	West	Dhyana Meditation			
Amogasiddhi	green	North	Abhaya Fearlessness			

The mudra that is exhibited by blue Unshakable Akshobhya is called the 'Earth Touching' mudra. That associated with yellow Jewel Born Ratnasambhava is the 'Giving' mudra. Boundless Light Amitabha has the 'Meditation' mudra; Unobstructed Success Amoghasiddhi has the 'Fearlessness' Mudra. The central Buddha Vairocana makes the 'Teaching' mudra (Dharma Wheel).

These 5 Buddhas have many other attributes that comprise a web of meanings. For example:

Physical symbolism of the five Dhyani Buddhas					
Deity	Element	Sense Medical/physical		Organ	
Vairochana	space	sight	energy channels	heart	
Akshobhya	water	sound	blood flow	kidneys	
Ratnasambhava	earth	smell	flesh	spleen	
Amitabha	fire	taste	body heat	liver	
Amogasiddhi	air	touch	inner winds	lungs	

Mental symbolism of the five Dhyani Buddhas				
Deity	Delusion	Enlightened Mind		
Vairochana	ignorance, delusion	All-encompassing Dharmadatu Wisdom		
Akshobhya	anger, hatred	Mirror-like Wisdom		
Ratnasambhava	pride, miserliness	Wisdom of Equality		
Amitabha	desire, lust	Discriminating Wisdom		
Amogasiddhi	jealousy, fear	All-accomplishing Wisdom		

More symbolism of the five Dhyani Buddhas					
Deity	Family symbol and family	Syllable	Vehicle	Aggregate	
Vairochana	Wheel Tathagata	ОМ	dragon	form (Skt. rupa)	
Akshobhya	Vajra	HUM	elephant	consciousness (Skt. vijnana)	
Ratnasambhava	Jewel	TRAM	horse or lion	sensation (Skt. vendana)	
Amitabha	Lotus Lotus padma	HRIH	peacock	perception (Skt. sanjna)	
Amogasiddhi	Double vajra	АН	Garuda	impulses (Skt. Samskara)	

There are mantras for each Buddha: Om Vairocana Hum Om Vajra Akshobhya Hum Om Ratnasambhava Tram Om Amideva Hrih Om Amoghasiddhi Ah Hum

The associate female Buddhas correspond to the 5 material elements. Thus:

Vairocana/ Vajradhatishvari- space Akshobhya/ Locana- water Ratnasambhava/ Mamaki- earth Amitabha/ Pandara- fire Amoghasiddhi/ Tara- air

Finally, there are five associated Bodhisattvas: Vairocana-Samantabhadra Akshobhya-Vajrapani Ratnasambhava-Ratnapani Amitabha-Avalokiteshvara (Chenrezi) Amoghsiddhi-Vishvapani

Prepared for Nalanda Institute Olympia by Bob Harris